Lighthouse Quilt – Finished

I finally finished the Lighthouse quilt. I am so excited, and can’t wait to wrap it up and send it to Chicago. My cousin had a baby boy on March 12, 2014, and that is who is going to have sweet dreams under this 100% cotton quilt. It will certainly keep him toasty during those cold months in the Windy City. It’s important to me that the quilts I make will stand up to a washer and dryer.

This quilt was designed by Faith Jones, who sponsored a quilt-a-long of Fresh Lemon Quilts http://www.freshlemonsquilts.com/?p=3099 


















I changed it a bit to make it my own, and customized it for my cousin’s family and the baby. I decided to make the middle block a yellow lighthouse with the brightest light as the beacon on Lake Michigan. One of Faith’s beautiful samples was in a rainbow color order, but this one isn’t. And my colors are not all solid, and some have a pattern in the fabric.

I machine quilted this, by first sewing in the ditch. In the light spaces, I stippled using free-motion quilting. We couldn’t get a good photo of the stippling from the front, but you can see it quite well on the back.




















When I thought about the backing, I wanted to try something I had never done before.  I decided to split the fabric into 1/3 and 2/3rds. Then I stacked random fabrics to bring the two pieces of the back together.

Some of the choices in the stack were intentional. The fabric with the music notes represents the family’s love of music. The paw prints fabric is for their large poodle, Dixie.
 

My cousin is from Texas, which is why I picked the western cowboy fabric to use for the inscription, date of birth, date of completion and where it was made. 

My cousin’s husband is from England. So adding a patch with Paddington Bear was essential.

 

I enjoyed making this quilt, and can’t wait for it to be delivered to a new, sweet boy who is part of our family. I wish for him healthy and happy life.


2 thoughts on “Lighthouse Quilt – Finished

  1. Nice job! the backing is very 'modern' in the sense of the modern quilting trend in the US right now. I've done a similar type of backing on a couple of quilts. I also really like how you personalized the fabrics to match elements in the family!

    Like

Leave a Reply

