WIP Pick and Mix

Over the weekend, I laid out all 80 squares for my king size Pick and Mix. 



It took about 2 hours, and I still wasn’t satisfied with the final block arrangement. The values of some blocks that were next to each other weren’t working for me.




I number each row and square.  For example; Row 1/1, 1/2 and so on. I will lay it back out again and move the blocks around until it works.

Tomorrow is the beginning of the New Quilter’s Blog Hop which I will be participating in. My post will be Wednesday, June 4, as well as some of the other new bloggers. The hop continues into July, and I will post links to other blogs so you can read about their experiences too. 

Thank to Plum and June http://plumandjune.blogspot.com/for organizing and sponsoring this blog hop.

And, I’m linking this WIP Wednesdays with Freshly Pieced, http://www.freshlypieced.com/2014/06/wip-wednesday-with-guest-host-lucy-from.html

4 thoughts on “WIP Pick and Mix

  1. With a quilt that large, getting the layout right can be tricky. When I made my first queen sized quilt, I got the layout just how I wanted an then the dog ran in and scattered all the blocks before I could mark them… I wasn't too happy at the time, but I do love how the quilt turned out anyway! Good luck getting it just right for you. And I am looking forward to and a bit nervous about the blog hop, too.

    Like

  2. Thanks, Yvonne. I've had the same thing happen with my cats. This time I laid it out – not at home and numbered them partially for that same reason. Also, I didn't have enough space.

    Looking forward to the blog hop too. We are both posting tomorrow. Good luck!! It will be fun.

    Like

  3. I'm working on a churn dash right now and the more I do the less I like it. One of the things I do when laying out my blocks is take a picture – just with my cell phone. It lets me see colors that are popping out in a way I can't see when looking at it on the design wall. This helps me move the blocks around in a more pleasing arrangement. Although I've got to say, it's going to take more than a picture to help that churn dash! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

