Michael Miller Challenge

I told myself I would never do this, but after almost 21 years of quilting, I am. I have never entered a quilt challenge. I’m not worrying about winning, just finishing the quilt by the deadline is a good goal for me. Having one’s creativity judged is a tricky thing and it’s subjective just as writing book reviews of children’s books for School Library Journal is for me.

I have wanted to begin to design quilts tops and hopefully fabrics down the line. So this challenge put a bar in front of me to begin the process of designing quilts. (One thing at time – fabric design….maybe by the end of 2016)?

Back in the spring, I began sketching out blocks. I did some research and read a few books. In Italy I came across so many patterns in the architecture of buildings, on floors, walls, paths, streets, clothes, and of course the art.

So here I am….

Modern Quilt Guild Quilt Con 2015 has several categories of challenges. I chose the Michael Miller Spring Contour Pastels Challenge. I decided on this particular one because, I love pastels, and I have never made a quilt in all these years using only solids for the top.

Michael Miller sent contestants a bundle of fat eighths that looks like this;


 Love these colors!! 

I can’t show my patterns, but parts of one is okay. I am figuring out how the patten process works with quilt patterns, and then I’m happy to share.

I’m belaboring between two patterns. Deb from Pins and Needles in Mt. Kisco is helping me figure out the yardage. Right now I am making mock-ups in graph paper, coloring them in, and will decide between the two patterns.

Hopefully I will have figured that out by Tuesday.

Happy Quilting and have a great weekend!!

5 thoughts on “Michael Miller Challenge

  1. I am still waiting for my challenge bundle to arrive – I live in New Zealand and its taken its time to get here. In the meantime I am thinking through how to go from idea to reality, and working out whether or not my idea will actually work. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

